Rainy Post-Finals Week

Well, school is finally out for a few weeks, and now I’m sitting at home staring out the window waiting for the world to dry out so I can get my hands back on some rock.  I did squeeze one dry day out this past weekend and made it up to Boone to invest some time in Zen on the Mad Skills Wall at Grandmother Mountain.  This thing suits me surprisingly well.  The crimps don’t hurt my fingers, I guess they’re just big/sloping enough that I don’t have to close off on them.  They almost climb like fingertip-slopers or something.   Really rad holds.  Anyway, no luck on it this weekend, but I hope to get back to Boone one more time (I’ve been saying that for like 4 trips) to finish the area off for the season and move on to sandstone!  It’s hard to turn Boone down when it’s been so warm everywhere else and the highs have been in the 50’s up there…

(Upcoming spray warning) One trip prior to this past weekend, I finally did Throttle.  I couldn’t be more excited to move on from it.  That thing was HARD for me.  It’s nice to finally be able to try other lines at Grandmother without  having that thing looming over my head in the warmup area.  </spray>  That same trip, we also made the hike up to Apocalypse Prow to work that thing out, and surprisingly enough, I was able to do all the moves on it.  This thing could be the best line in Boone, if only the hike didn’t put your knees out of commission for the following week.

That’s most of what I have to share lately.  Just watching the forecast for 4 or 5 different areas and trying to decide what’s next.  Excited to see what the rest of the season holds.

IMG_20121208_095912

See you guys out there.

Leave a Reply

